Annual dinner at Carden Park

With The Mere Resort being refurbished the annual county dinner was staged at Carden Park.

Carden Park provided top class service throughout to add a special touch to the occasion.

There were over 180 in attendance, including county officials, member clubs, junior team players, distinguished guests, CCLGA ladies and partners and friends of CUGC members.

The compere for the evening was Simon Dangar, the guest speaker Jim Robertson and the President of England Golf Christine Pascall with Cheshire President Tony Gregory (Stockport Golf Club) playing a big part throughout a very enjoyable evening celebrating an excellent season for the county.

Tony Gregory introduced the England President who gave a detailed account of her time in golf as a player and administrator and she also paid tribute to the success of the CUGC.

Tony responded to her kind words and outlined the achievements of Cheshire before handing special awards to players and officials.

The junior team came in for a well deserved special mention having won the inaugural Northern Counties Junior League and being unbeaten in 11 matches. The team members were awarded medals for their success.

The Junior Player of the Year was Lucas Kuiper (Stockport GC).

The men’s team Player of the year was Chris Chilton (Lymm GC) and the Men’s Order of Merit winner was Junior Captain Dan Hayes (Bramhall GC).

The Seniors Order of Merit winner for the third year running was Gareth Bradley (Bramhall GC).

There were two Volunteer awards – The Lifetime Achievement Award for his services to Shrigley Hall GC in various roles for many years was Howard Stringer.

The Junior Organiser of the Year was presented to Stuart Richards of Sandiway GC for his dedicated work with his club, the Mid Cheshire Junior League and the county.

New positions announced were:

-Peter Barber (Non Playing Mens Team Captain)

-Jonathan Kell  (Sandiway)- Boys Captain

-Deputy President, 2024- John Heggarty (Royal Liverpool GC).

The evening was concluded with excellent entertainment from Jim Robertson who has had a variety of roles in the Crown Prosecution Service in Scotland. 

He is the only person to have won the Wit of the Year, The Wit of Wits and the aptly named Witiest Wit of Wits at Scotland’s famous Wit Dinners and he certainly showed why he has won these awards!

Image above: Dan Hayes – Men’s Order of Merit winner, with our President Tony Gregory


Copy & images: Geoff Garnett

Share This Post

More To Explore


Cheshire clubs nominated for England Golf Awards

The annual England Golf Awards for 2024, which coincide with EG’s centenary, feature 3 Cheshire clubs who have been shortlisted for awards. Heswall Golf Club is nominated for the Sustainability


Peter takes the helm

Peter Barber (pictured) has a great record as an amateur and professional golfer and he has also established himself as a top coach for the county, the region and England.He


2024 Fixtures Published

We are delighted to publish the 2024 fixtures, and what a line-up we have to look forward to.Our centrepiece event, the County Championship, returns to Royal Liverpool for the 13th


We are in Cheshire Life

Coverage of our Annual Dinner in October is featured in the latest copy of Cheshire Life.


“Royal” Stamford serving the community

The Royal Stamford Golf Society have made a great contribution to the safety of golf club members at Stamford Golf Club, the furthest East club in Cheshire. Stamford PGA professional