Cheshire Union of Golf Clubs

Cheshire Union of Golf Clubs - 66th Annual Dinner

THE 66th Annual Dinner of the Cheshire Union of Golf Clubs was once more excellently hosted by the Mere Resort and saw a pleasing increase in attendance with many clubs represented along with officials from various golfing organisations across the North of England.

Following an excellent dinner the toast to the CUGC was given in superb style by John Williams, the President of England Golf, who gave a detailed, informative and amusing account of the history and successes of the CUGC as well as some of his own experiences in golf and he gave full praise to all of the volunteers who do such a great job in golf in Cheshire and across the country.

Cheshire President Sean Ritchie responded and also thanked all who had made this another memorable season for the county and he also handed out awards to Matt Jordan for his selection for the Walker Cup and international success, Dominic Barnes as the team player of the year, Cameron Massey as the Cheshire Order of Merit winner and Dave Nelson as the senior team player of the year.

The great record-breaking career of David Peel was also a big feature as he retires from the county team after accumulating the highest number of appearances for Cheshire since he broke on to the Cheshire teams over 20 years ago and has been a shining example and inspiration for the many young players who have represented Cheshire during his long involvement with the county team of which he was Captain for three years.

Another retirement in focus was that of Cheshire secretary Steve Foster after 15 years in the role which has seen many changes for the county organisation to bring it in line with modern development in golf.

The evening was concluded by guest Andrew Murray, a winner of the European Open title and experienced broadcaster who gave a great insight into his life in golf since his modest beginnings as a junior at Didsbury Golf Club and then going on to play with the likes of Seve Ballesteros, Tom Watson Nick Faldo and many other golfing legends at the top level.

A great night enjoyed by all who attended and it was announced that the President elect of 2018 will be Andrew Henshall of Wilmslow Golf Club and Peter Whitehead will be the new county secretary.

L to R; Dennis Trickett; Andrew Murray; Sean Ritchie & John Williams Andrew Murray Matt Jordan - Walker Cup award.


Cameron Massey Dominic Barnes Dave Nelson Matt Jordan Alderley Edge members Delamere Forest members Jack Brookes; Andrew Murray & Peter Barber Sandiway members Senior team Stockport members Wilmslow members County team

Copy & Images: Geoff Garnett

Return to News Page

Created by intelligentgolf version 10.1.2
CONGU® is Copyright Council of National Golf Unions.